New Fully Funded PhD Project Available (Extended Application Deadline: TBD)

What is PI? | Facilities | Group Members | Live Grants | News | Seminars & Events | Recent Publications | Available PhDs | PhD Funding | Networks | PIG Books | Alumni


 

Group Members

[Click on profile pictures to access further information]

Head of Group

  Prof Adam Harvey
Professor of Process Intensification

Email: adam.harvey@ncl.ac.uk 
Research Areas:
Oscillatory Baffled Reactors (OBRs)
Biofuel Processing
Heterogeneous Catalysis
Particle Image Velocimetry
Fluidics
 
 
       

Academic Staff

  Dr Kamelia Boodhoo
Reader in Sustainable Process Technology

Email: kamelia.boodhoo@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Spinning Disc Reactors (SDRs)
Polymerisation
Bio-intensification
Micro-reactors
Crystallization
 
  John Dalton
Lecturer

Email: john.dalton@ncl.ac.uk
Website: Engineering Design Centre
Research Areas:
Integrated Modelling Environment
Knowledge Management
Traceability
Multi-Criteria Decision Techniques
Object Oriented Modelling
Programming
John Dalton  
  Dr Richard Law
Lecturer

Email: richard.law2@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Intensified Heat Transfer
Novel and/or Compact Heat Exchangers
Industrial Waste Heat Recovery and Utilisation
Thermal Management in High Flux Components
  Dr Jon Lee
Senior Lecturer

Email: jonathan.lee@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Rotating Packed Beds (RPBs)
Heat Pipes
Catalytic Plate Reactors
Spinning Disc Heat Transfer
 
  Dr Chris O'Malley
Lecturer

Email: chris.o'malley@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Bioprocessing
Data Analysis
Classification
Multivariate Statistics
Sustainable Brewing & Stu Brew
 
  Dr Anh Phan
Lecturer

Email: anh.phan@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Mesoscale Oscillatory Baffled Reactors
Combustion
Pyrolysis
Gasification
Biofuels Processing from Waste
 
  Prof David Reay
Senior Research Associate

Email: david.reay@ncl.ac.uk
Website: www.drassociates.co.uk
Research Areas:
Heat Pipes
Heat Pumps
Compact Heat Exchangers
Thermal Management
Carbon Capture
Intensified by Design
  Dr Fernando Russo-Abegao
Teaching Fellow

Email: fernando.russo-abegao@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Catalysis
Biorefining
Biofuels
Green Chemistry
Reaction Engineering
 
  Dr Sharon Velasquez-Orta
Lecturer

Email: sharon.velasquez-orta@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Algal Biofuels
Water Treatment
Wastewater Treatment
Bioelectrochemistry
 
  Dr Marija Vicevic
Teaching Fellow

Email: marija.vicevic1@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Green Chemistry
Spinning Disc Reactors
Polymerisation
Crystallisation
Reaction Kinetics
Bioreactors
 
  Dr Steven Wang
Lecturer

Email: steven.wang@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Bubbly & Chaotic Flows, Inertial Particles
PM2.5, Particulate Flow, Materials
Leidenfrost, Levitation Physics
Food Processing, Mixing, PTV
  Dr Mark Willis
Senior Lecturer

Email: mark.willis@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
High Throughput Technology
Process Development
Evolutionary Computation
Inferential Models
Multivariate Statistics
Software Development
 
  Dr Jie Zhang
Senior Lecturer

Email: jie.zhang@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Advanced Process Control
Neural Networks
Fuzzy Systems
Process Modelling
Process Fault Detection/Diagnosis
Monitoring
Optimization
 
  Dr Vladimir Zivkovic
Lecturer

Email: vladimir.zivkovic@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Micro-Fluidised Beds
Granular Dynamics
 
 

Research Associates and Visitors

  Prof Tinuade Afolabi
Visitor

Email: tinuade.afolabi@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Molecular Characterisation of Crude Oil and Application of Heat Integration Methodologies on some Refinery Units in Nigeria
Funding: Commonwealth Scholarship Commissions UK

Working With: Dr Zhang
  Dr Pierrot Attidekou
Research Associate

Email: pierrot.attidekou@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
 
  Ben Dannatt
KTP Associate (Durham Filtration Ltd)

Email: ben.dannatt2@ncl.ac.uk


Working With: Dr Willis
  Dr Valentine Eze
Research Associate

Email: v.eze@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Sustainable Polymers
Funding: EPSRC

Working With: Prof Harvey
  Dr James Hendry
Research Assistant

Email: james.hendry@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
  Toluanimi Kolawole
Research Assistant

Email: t.o.kolawole@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
  Dr Jonathan McDonough
Research Associate

Email: jonathan.mcdonough@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Novel adsorbents applied to integrated energy-efficient industrial CO2 capture
Funding: EPSRC

Working With: Prof Reay, Dr Zivkovic & Dr Law
  Jose Munoz
Visiting PhD Student

Email: jose.munoz@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Heat transfer, power dissipation and flow patterns in oscillatory baffled reactors
Funding:

Working With: Prof Harvey, Dr Phan & Dr Law
  Dr Kui Zhang
Research Associate

Email: kui.zhang@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Development of a Non-Thermal Plasma Device to Reduce Combustion Particulate Emissions
Funding: EPSRC Impact Acceleration Award

Working With: Prof Harvey

Research Students

  Aumber Abbas

Email: a.abbas2@ncl.ac.uk
Conversion of bio-waste into innovative advanced materials
Newcastle-Singapore Studentship (NSS)

Supervisors:
Dr Anh Phan
Dr Fernando Russo Abegao
  Akmal Bin Abdul Rahim

Email: m.a.abdul-rahim2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of Epoxidation of Vegetable Oil
Malaysian Rubber Board

Supervisors:
Prof Adam Harvey
Dr Anh Phan
  Abdullahi Adamu

Email: a.adamu2@ncl.ac.uk
Photocatalytic CO2 Reduction for Chemical and Fuel Production
Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), Nigeria

Supervisor:
Dr Boodhoo
Dr Russo Abegao
  Zakariah Adu Adejoh

Email: z.a.adejoh2@ncl.ac.uk
Particulate emissions from biomass boilers and their mitigation
NEEDS Assessment/Academic Staff Training and Development, University of Abuja, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr K Zhang
  Safaa Ahmed

Email: s.m.r.ahmed@ncl.ac.uk
Scale-up of oscillatory helically-baffled reactors
HECD (Higher Education for Education Development in Iraq)

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Phan
  Olatunde Akinbuja

Email: o.o.akinbuja2@ncl.ac.uk
Algae-based microbial fuel cells for pollution conversion and monitoring
Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF)

Supervisors:
Dr Velasquez-Orta
Dr Boodhoo
Ahmed Al-Hatrooshi

Email: ahmed.al-hatrooshi@ncl.ac.uk
Marine Waste Biorfinery
Diwan Royal Court, Government of Oman

Supervisor:
Prof Harvey
  Muayad Al-Karawi

Email: m.a.s.al-karawi@ncl.ac.uk
Harvesting and converting to fuel of algal biomass
HECD (Higher Education for Education Development in Iraq)

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Dr Caldwell
  Luma Al-Saadi

Email: l.s.a.al-saadi@ncl.ac.uk
Investigation of new routes and conditions for biodiesel production using mesoscale oscillatory baffled reactors

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Eze
  Auwal Aliyu

Email: a.aliyu@ncl.ac.uk
Catalytic Cracking of Algae for Biofuel Production
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Kazeem Alli

Email: kazeem.alli@ncl.ac.uk
Batch-to-Batch On-Line Optimization Control with Extreme Learning Machine Model and Integrated System Optimization & Parameter Estimation (ISOPE)
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Chukwuma Anyigor

Email: c.m.anyigor@ncl.ac.uk
Utilization of stranded natural gas: investigating options for applications of process intensification
Ebonyi State Scholarship Scheme, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Prof Reay
  Jeremiah Corrigan

Email: j.corrigan@ncl.ac.uk
Data-driven modelling and monitoring of industrial processes with applications in the nuclear waste processing industry
EPSRC & Sellafield Ltd

Collaborators:
Sellafield Ltd

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Usman Dahiru

Email: u.h.dahiru-hassan2@ncl.ac.uk
Decomposition of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) using non-thermal plasma
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr K Zhang
  Laura Diaz-Silvarrey

Email: l.diaz-silvarrey@ncl.ac.uk
Pyrolysis of municipal plastic waste into fuel and chemicals
Self Funded

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr K Zhang
  Chris Dixon

Email: c.j.dixon1@ncl.ac.uk
A Novel, Semi-Automatic method for the Identification of Reaction Networks
School Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Willis
Dr O'Malley
 
  Long Duong

Email: t.l.duong2@ncl.ac.uk
Upgrading bio-oil from pyrolysis of biomass
Vietnam Oil and Gas Group (PetroVietnam or PVN) + NUORS Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Fabio Cucinotta
Dr K Zhang
  Mohamad Gunam Resul

Email: m.f.m.gunam-resul1@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of terpene epoxidation using meso-scale oscillatory baffled reactors
Malaysian Government

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lopez
  Abubakar Halidu

Email: a.halidu2@ncl.ac.uk
Production of Bio-Hydrogen from Agricultural Residual (Spelt Husk) using Gasification Process
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Paul E Bilsborrow
  Jonathan Harris

Email: j.harris2@ncl.ac.uk
Investigating non-thermal plasma as a means of upgrading Bio-oil model compounds
EPSRC

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr K Zhang
  James Hockaday

Email: james.hockaday@ncl.ac.uk
Cleaning up metal contamination of waterways using algae

Supervisors:
Dr Valesquez-Orta
Prof Harvey
  Hafsat Ibrahim

Email: h.h.ibrahim2@ncl.ac.uk
Ozone Pre-Treatment of Biomass to Biofuel
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisor:
Dr Anh Phan
  Warm In-Na

Email: p.in-na@ncl.ac.uk
Carbon Capture and Conversion using Engineered Solar-Powered Biocomposite Foams
CEAM IPS Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Jonathan Lee
Dr Gary Caldwell
  Harry Laing

Email: h.j.laing@ncl.ac.uk

PhD CASE with Northumbrian Water Group Ltd

Supervisors:
Dr Willis
Dr O'Malley
  Kai Liu

Email: k.liu5@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Ibrahim Mohammed

Email: i.a.mohammed2@ncl.ac.uk
Combined Reactive Extraction and Reactive Coupling for Biodiesel Production
PTDF

Supervisors:
Prof Adam Harvey
Dr Jon Lee
  Wissam Muhsin

Email: w.a.muhsin2@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisors:
Dr J Zhang
  Teuku Mukhriza

Email: t.mukhriza@ncl.ac.uk
Integrated plasma reactors for catalytic syngas conversion to fuels and chemicals
Ministry of Education and Culture of Indonesia

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr K Zhang
  Salihu Musa

Email: s.d.musa2@ncl.ac.uk
Cost Effective Biodiesel Production by Reactive Extraction in a Foam Column
PTDF, Nigeria (PhD Sponsor)
EPSRC, SuperGen Bioenergy Hub
(Project Sponsor)

Supervisor:
Dr Lee
  Malik Musthofa

Email: m.musthofa@ncl.ac.uk
Catalytic Cracking of Triglycerides for Biofuels Production
Ministry of Education and Culture of Indonesia

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Orlando Lopes do Nascimento

Email: o.lopes1@ncl.ac.uk
Hydrodynamic study of micro circulating fluidised bed
EPSRC

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Prof Reay
  Kirstie Pemberton

Email: k.pemberton@ncl.ac.uk
Characterisation of Lentiviral vector production from HEK293T cell lines
EPSRC

Collaborators:
Oxford BioMedica (UK) Ltd
Kent University

Supervisors:
Prof Mark Smales (Kent University)
Dr Carol Knevelman (Oxford BioMedica)
Dr Chris O'Malley
Prof Gary Montague (CPI)
  Rousen Qi

Email: r.qi2@ncl.ac.uk
Fault Prognosis and Fault Magnitude Estimation Based on Hybrid Computational Intelligence and Data Analysis Techniques for Industrial Proceses
Self-Funded

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Tobechi Okoroafor

Email: t.n.okoroafor1@ncl.ac.uk
New pathways for producing chemicals from CO2 using bioelectrochemical systems
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Valesquez-Orta
  David Okot

Email: d.k.okot@ncl.ac.uk
Pyrolysis of waste biomass for energy and bio-char for soil amendment
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Bilsborrow
  Ha Phan

Email: h.h.phan2@ncl.ac.uk
Conversion of bio-waste into superior electrode materials for energy storage applications
Research Excellence Academy

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Russo Abegao
  Phuet Prasertcharoensuk

Email: p.prasertcharoensuk@ncl.ac.uk
Gasification of waste for hydrogen production
Self Funded

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Prof Bull
  Paulius Rasiukas

Email: p.rasiukas@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisors:
Dr Willis
Dr O'Malley
  Abdul Rehman

Email: a.rehman2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of cyclic carbonate synthesis from CO2 and terpene based epoxides
University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore, Pakistan

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lopez
  Faisal Saleem

Email: f.saleem2@ncl.ac.uk
Treatment of biomass gasification tars with non-thermal plasmas
UET, Lahore, Pakistan

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Zhang
  Sahr Sana

Email: s.sana@ncl.ac.uk
Crystallization in the Spinning Disc Reactor
CEAM

Supervisors:
Dr Boodhoo
Dr Zivkovic
  Abbas Umar

Email: a.a.umar1@ncl.ac.uk
Ciliates removal in microalgae culture using foam column separation technique
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Dr Caldwell
  Eka Utuk

Email: e.o.utuk2@ncl.ac.uk
Real time monitoring of water pollution using microbial fuel cells

Supervisor:
Dr Velasquez-Orta
  Guanqi Wang

Email: g.wang12@ncl.ac.uk
Study of PM capture mechanism by trees and development of an intensified approach for solving emission problems
China Scholarship Council (CSC) & Postgraduate Research Group

Supervisors:
Dr Wang
Prof Harvey
Dr McDonough
  Shengkai Wang

Email: s.wang42@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Peng Zhang

Email: p.zhang9@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisors:
Dr J Zhang
  Yi Zhang

Email: y.zhang128@ncl.ac.uk
CFD simulation of a miniaturized bioreactor

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Dr Yuen Ling Ng (Singapore Campus)
Dr Kheng-Lim Goh (Singapore Campus)
  Changhao Zhu

Email: c.zhu5@ncl.ac.uk



Supervisors:
Dr J Zhang

 

 

 Last modified: 15-Oct-2018