New Fully Funded PhD Project Available (Extended Application Deadline: TBD)
HEXAG and PIN Meetings Announced


What is PI? | Facilities | Group Members | Live Grants | News | Seminars & Events | Recent Publications | Available PhDs | PhD Funding | Networks | PIG Books | Alumni


 

Group Members

[Click on profile pictures to access further information]

Head of Group

  Prof Adam Harvey
Professor of Process Intensification

Email: adam.harvey@ncl.ac.uk 
Research Areas:
Oscillatory Baffled Reactors (OBRs)
Biofuel Processing
Heterogeneous Catalysis
Particle Image Velocimetry
Fluidics
 
 
       

Academic Staff

  Dr Kamelia Boodhoo
Reader in Sustainable Process Technology

Email: kamelia.boodhoo@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Spinning Disc Reactors (SDRs)
Polymerisation
Bio-intensification
Micro-reactors
Crystallization
 
  Dr Richard Law
Lecturer (Commencing Aug 2017)

Email: richard.law2@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Heat Transfer
Thermal Management
Fluidics
 
  Dr Jon Lee
Lecturer

Email: jonathan.lee@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Rotating Packed Beds (RPBs)
Heat Pipes
Catalytic Plate Reactors
Spinning Disc Heat Transfer
 
  Prof Ian Metcalfe
Professor of Chemical Engineering

Email: ian.metcalfe@ncl.ac.uk
Website: https://research.ncl.ac.uk/iontransport/
Research Areas:
Catalysis
Membranes
Chemical Looping
  Dr Anh Phan
Lecturer

Email: anh.phan@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Mesoscale Oscillatory Baffled Reactors
Combustion
Pyrolysis
Gasification
Biofuels Processing from Waste
 
  Prof David Reay
Senior Research Associate

Email: david.reay@ncl.ac.uk
Website: www.drassociates.co.uk
Research Areas:
Heat Pipes
Heat Pumps
Compact Heat Exchangers
Thermal Management
Carbon Capture
Intensified by Design
  Dr Fernando Russo-Abegao
Teaching Fellow

Email: fernando.russo-abegao@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Catalysis
Biorefining
Biofuels
Green Chemistry
Reaction Engineering
 
  Dr Sharon Velasquez-Orta
Lecturer

Email: sharon.valesquez-orta@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Algal Biofuels
Water Treatment
Wastewater Treatment
Bioelectrochemistry
 
  Dr Marija Vicevic
Teaching Fellow

Email: marija.vicevic1@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Green Chemistry
Spinning Disc Reactors
Polymerisation
Crystallisation
Reaction Kinetics
Bioreactors
 
  Dr Steven Wang
Lecturer

Email: steven.wang@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Bubbly & Chaotic Flows, Inertial Particles
PM2.5, Particulate Flow, Materials
Leidenfrost, Levitation Physics
Food Processing, Mixing, PTV
  Dr Vladimir Zivkovic
Lecturer

Email: vladimir.zivkovic@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Micro-Fluidised Beds
Granular Dynamics
 
 

Research Associates and Visitors

  Dr Pierrot Attidekou
Research Associate

Email: pierrot.attidekou@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
 
  Dr Valentine Eze
Research Associate

Email: v.eze@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Pilot-scale development of a wastewater treatment plant using microalgae
Funding: Newton Fund

Working With: Dr Velasquez-Orta
  James Hendry
Research Assistant

Email: james.hendry@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
  Toluanimi Kolawole
Research Assistant

Email: t.o.kolawole@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
  Dr Ana Lopez
Research Associate

Email: ana.lopez@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Sustainable Polymers
Funding: EPSRC

Working With: Prof Harvey
  Jonathan McDonough
Research Assistant

Email: jonathan.mcdonough@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Applications of 3D Printed Fluidic Oscillators


Working With: Prof Harvey
  Dr Ahmad Mustaffar
Research Associate

Email: ahmad.mustaffar@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Intensified by Design (IbD)
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Boodhoo
  Dr Haoyu Wang
Research Associate

Email: haoyu.wang@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Intensified by Design (IbD)
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Boodhoo
 
  Dr Kui Zhang
Research Associate

Email: kui.zhang@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Supergen Bioenergy
Funding: EPSRC

Working With: Prof Harvey

Research Students

  Aumber Abbas

Email: a.abbas2@ncl.ac.uk
Conversion of bio-waste into innovative advanced materials
Newcastle-Singapore Studentship (NSS)

Supervisors:
Dr Anh Phan
Dr Fernando Russo Abegao
  Akmal Bin Abdul Rahim

Email: m.a.abdul-rahim2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of Epoxidation of Vegetable Oil
Malaysian Rubber Board

Supervisors:
Prof Adam Harvey
Dr Anh Phan
  Safaa Ahmed

Email: s.m.r.ahmed@ncl.ac.uk
Scale-up of oscillatory helically-baffled reactors
HECD (Higher Education for Education Development in Iraq)

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Phan
  Ahmed Al-Hatrooshi

Email: ahmed.al-hatrooshi@ncl.ac.uk
Marine Waste Biorfinery
Diwan Royal Court, Government of Oman

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
  Muayad Al-Karawi

Email: m.a.s.al-karawi@ncl.ac.uk
Harvesting and converting to fuel of algal biomass
HECD (Higher Education for Education Development in Iraq)

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Dr Caldwell
  Luma Al-Saadi

Email: l.s.a.al-saadi@ncl.ac.uk
Investigation of new routes and conditions for biodiesel production using mesoscale oscillatory baffled reactors

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Eze
  Auwal Aliyu

Email: a.aliyu@ncl.ac.uk
Catalytic Cracking of Algae for Biofuel Production
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Chukwuma Anyigor

Email: c.m.anyigor@ncl.ac.uk
Utilization of stranded natural gas: investigating options for applications of process intensification
Ebonyi State Scholarship Scheme, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
  Akeem Babatunde

Email: a.a.babatunde@ncl.ac.uk
Reactive Extraction for Biodiesel Production
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Laura Diaz-Silvarrey

Email: l.diaz-silvarrey@ncl.ac.uk
Pyrolysis of municipal plastic waste into fuel and chemicals
Self Funded

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Zhang
  Ruili Feng

Evaluation of Process Intensification in Early Development or Retrofitting Existing Processes for Green and Sustainability Benefits
Economic Development Board (Singapore) & GSK

Supervisors:
Dr Boodhoo
  Mohamad Gunam Resul

Email: m.f.m.gunam-resul1@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of terpene epoxidation using meso-scale oscillatory baffled reactors
Malaysian Government

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lopez
  Jonathan Harris

Email: j.harris2@ncl.ac.uk
Investigating non-thermal plasma as a means of upgrading Bio-oil model compounds
EPSRC

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Zhang
  James Hockaday

Email: j.hockaday@ncl.ac.uk
Cleaning up metal contamination of waterways using algae

Supervisors:
Dr Valesquez-Orta
Prof Harvey
[Picture to Follow]
  Warm In-Na

Email: p.in-na@ncl.ac.uk
Carbon Capture and Conversion using Engineered Solar-Powered Biocomposite Foams
CEAM IPS Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Jonathan Lee
Dr Gary Caldwell
  Ibrahim Mohammed

Email: i.a.mohammed2@ncl.ac.uk
Combined Reactive Extraction and Reactive Coupling for Biodiesel Production
PTDF

Supervisors:
Prof Adam Harvey
Dr Jon Lee
  Teuku Mukhriza

Email: t.mukhriza@ncl.ac.uk
Integrated plasma reactors for catalytic syngas conversion to fuels and chemicals
Ministry of Education and Culture of Indonesia

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Zhang
  Salihu Musa

Email: s.d.musa2@ncl.ac.uk
Cost Effective Biodiesel Production by Reactive Extraction in a Foam Column
PTDF, Nigeria (PhD Sponsor)
EPSRC, SuperGen Bioenergy Hub (Project Sponsor)

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
  Malik Musthofa

Email: m.musthofa@ncl.ac.uk
Catalytic Cracking of Triglycerides for Biofuels Production
Ministry of Education and Culture of Indonesia

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Orlando Lopes do Nascimento

Email: o.lopes1@ncl.ac.uk
Hydrodynamic study of micro circulating fluidised bed
EPSRC

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Prof Reay
  Tobechi Okoroafor

Email: t.n.okoroafor1@ncl.ac.uk
New pathways for producing chemicals from CO2 using bioelectrochemical systems
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Valesquez-Orta
  David Okot

Email: d.k.okot@ncl.ac.uk
Pyrolysis of waste biomass for energy and bio-char for soil amendment
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Bilsborrow
  Victoria Outram

Email: victoria.outram@ncl.ac.uk
In Situ Solvent Recovery
EPSRC/Green Biologics Ltd

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee
  Ha Phan

Email: h.h.phan2@ncl.ac.uk
Conversion of bio-waste into superior electrode materials for energy storage applications
Research Excellence Academy

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Russo Abegao
  Phuet Prasertcharoensuk

Email: p.prasertcharoensuk@ncl.ac.uk
Gasification of waste for hydrogen production
Self Funded

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Prof Bull
  Abdul Rehman

Email: a.rehman2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of cyclic carbonate synthesis from CO2 and terpene based epoxides
University of Engineering and Technology, Lahore, Pakistan

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lopez
  Faisal Saleem

Email: f.saleem2@ncl.ac.uk
Treatment of biomass gasification tars with non-thermal plasmas
UET, Lahore, Pakistan

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Zhang
  Sahr Sana

Email: s.sana@ncl.ac.uk
Crystallization in the Spinning Disc Reactor
CEAM

Supervisors:
Dr Boodhoo
  Abbas Umar

Email: a.a.umar1@ncl.ac.uk
Ciliates removal in microalgae culture using foam column separation technique
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Dr Caldwell
  Eka Utuk

Email: e.o.utuk2@ncl.ac.uk
Real time monitoring of water pollution using microbial fuel cells

Supervisors:
Dr Velasquez-Orta

 

 

 Last modified: 02-Jun-2017