🚨PIN28 Meeting, 🗓Tuesday 5th July 2022, 📍Newcastle University, Research Beehive, Room 2.21, 📋Registration available soon

What is PI? | Facilities | Group Members | Live Grants | News | Publications | PhD Opportunities | Networks | PIG Books | Alumni


 

Group Members

[Click on profile pictures to access further information]

Head of Group

  Prof Adam Harvey
Professor of Process Intensification

Email: adam.harvey@ncl.ac.uk 
Research Areas:
Oscillatory Baffled Reactors (OBRs)
Biofuel Processing
Heterogeneous Catalysis
Particle Image Velocimetry
Fluidics
 
 
       

Academic Staff

  Dr Kamelia Boodhoo
Reader in Sustainable Process Technology

Email: kamelia.boodhoo@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Spinning Disc Reactors (SDRs)
Polymerisation
Bio-intensification
Micro-reactors
Crystallization
 
  John Dalton
Lecturer

Email: john.dalton@ncl.ac.uk
Website: Engineering Design Centre
Research Areas:
Integrated Modelling Environment
Knowledge Management
Traceability
Multi-Criteria Decision Techniques
Object Oriented Modelling
Programming
John Dalton  
  Dr Colin Hare
Senior Lecturer

Email: colin.hare@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Powder Flow
Particle Breakage
Mechanical Property Characterisation
Discrete Element Method
Particle Coating
  Dr Richard Law
Lecturer

Email: richard.law2@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Intensified Heat Transfer
Novel and/or Compact Heat Exchangers
Industrial Waste Heat Recovery and Utilisation
Thermal Management in High Flux Components
  Dr Jon Lee
Senior Lecturer

Email: jonathan.lee@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Rotating Packed Beds (RPBs)
Heat Pipes
Catalytic Plate Reactors
Spinning Disc Heat Transfer
 
  Dr Chris O'Malley
Senior Lecturer

Email: chris.o'malley@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Bioprocessing
Data Analysis
Classification
Multivariate Statistics
Sustainable Brewing & Stu Brew
 
  Dr Jonathan McDonough
Lecturer

Email: jonathan.mcdonough@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
3D Printing
Reaction Engineering
Reactor Design
Fluidization
Fluid Mechanics
Flow Chemistry
  Dr Anh Phan
Senior Lecturer

Email: anh.phan@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Mesoscale Oscillatory Baffled Reactors
Combustion
Pyrolysis
Gasification
Biofuels Processing from Waste
 
  Prof David Reay
Senior Research Associate

Email: david.reay@ncl.ac.uk
Website: www.drassociates.co.uk
Research Areas:
Heat Pipes
Heat Pumps
Compact Heat Exchangers
Thermal Management
Carbon Capture
Thermal Energy Storage
  Dr Fernando Russo-Abegao
Lecturer

Email: fernando.russo-abegao@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Catalysis
Biorefining
Biofuels
Green Chemistry
Reaction Engineering
Photocatalytic Reactors
 
  Dr Sharon Velasquez-Orta
Lecturer

Email: sharon.velasquez-orta@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Algal Biofuels
Water Treatment
Wastewater Treatment
Bioelectrochemistry
 
  Dr Marija Vicevic
Lecturer

Email: marija.vicevic1@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Green Chemistry
Spinning Disc Reactors
Polymerisation
Crystallisation
Reaction Kinetics
Bioreactors
 
  Dr Mark Willis
Senior Lecturer

Email: mark.willis@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
High Throughput Technology
Process Development
Evolutionary Computation
Inferential Models
Multivariate Statistics
Software Development
 
  Dr Jie Zhang
Reader in Process Systems Engineering

Email: jie.zhang@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Advanced Process Control
Neural Networks
Fuzzy Systems
Process Modelling
Process Fault Detection/Diagnosis
Monitoring
Optimization
 
  Dr Vladimir Zivkovic
Lecturer

Email: vladimir.zivkovic@ncl.ac.uk
Research Areas:
Micro-Fluidised Beds
Granular Dynamics
Adsorption
 
 

Research Associates and Visitors

  Dr James Hendry
Research Associate

Email: james.hendry@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Capture using Rotating Packed Beds
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Lee
  Dr James Hockaday
Research Associate

Email: james.hockaday@ncl.ac.uk
Project: ICED: Intensified Cooling of Electronic Devices
Funding: EPSRC

Working With:
Dr Law
  Dr Marv Khala
Research Associate

Email: marv.khala@ncl.ac.uk

Project: Precise deposition of complex particles for structured functional products
Funding: EPSRC

Working With: Dr Hare
  Dr Harry Laing
KTP Associate (Northumbrian Water)

Email: harry.laing@ncl.ac.uk

Project: Investigation of control and on-line optimisation opportunities of a wastewater treatment plant

Working With: Dr Willis and Dr O'Malley
  Dr Ibrahim Mohammed
Research Associate

Email: i.a.mohammed2@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon Dioxide Reactions in Non-Thermal Plasmas

Working With: Prof Harvey & Dr Zhang
  Dr Hoang Nguyen
Research Associate

Email: hoang.nguyen@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon based materials from agriculture residues
Funding: The Royal Society

Working with: Dr Phan
Dr Ha Phan
Research Associate

Email: ha.phan@ncl.ac.uk
Project: Carbon material for water treatment
Funding: Royal Academy of Engineering

Working with: Dr Phan
  Dr Phuet Prasertcharoensuk
Research Associate

Email: phuet.prasertcharoensuk@ncl.ac.uk
Project: TBD
Funding: TBD

Working With: Dr Phan
  Dr Kui Zhang
Research Associate

Email: kui.zhang@ncl.ac.uk
Project: CO2 Reactions in Non-Thermal Plasmas
Funding: US Department of Energy

Working With: Prof Harvey
  Dr Zongyuan Zhu
Research Associate

Email: zongyuan.zhu@ncl.ac.uk
Project: BioSPRINT: Biorefining of Sugars via PRocess INTensification
Funding: Horizon 2020

Working With: Dr Russo Abegao and Dr Boodhoo

Research Students

  Akmal Bin Abdul Rahim

Email: m.a.abdul-rahim2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of Epoxidation of Vegetable Oil
Malaysian Rubber Board

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Phan
  Abdullahi Adamu

Email: a.adamu2@ncl.ac.uk
Photocatalytic CO2 Reduction for Chemical and Fuel Production
Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF), Nigeria

Supervisor:
Dr Boodhoo
Dr Russo Abegao
  Zakariah Adu Adejoh

Email: z.a.adejoh2@ncl.ac.uk
Particulate emissions from biomass boilers and their mitigation
NEEDS Assessment/Academic Staff Training and Development, University of Abuja, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr K Zhang
  Olatunde Akinbuja

Email: o.o.akinbuja2@ncl.ac.uk
Algae-based microbial fuel cells for pollution conversion and monitoring
Petroleum Technology Development Fund (PTDF)

Supervisors:
Dr Velasquez-Orta
Dr Boodhoo
  Awad Alamri

Email: a.z.k.alamri2@ncl.ac.uk
Screening of CO2 adsorbents using micro-fluidized beds

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Dr McDonough
  Kazeem Alli

Email: kazeem.alli@ncl.ac.uk
Batch-to-Batch On-Line Optimization Control with Extreme Learning Machine Model and Integrated System Optimization & Parameter Estimation (ISOPE)
PTDF

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Mohammad Alzahrani

Email: m.b.a.alzahrani2@ncl.ac.uk
HTL of food waste for biofuel and nutrient recovery
SACB

Supervisor:
Dr Phan

Dr Bilsborrow
Sharon Joyce
  Henry Baker

Email: h.baker4@ncl.ac.uk
Scaled-down oscillatory flow-based heat sinks
Newcastle University Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Law
Dr McDonough
  Hannah Bird

Email: h.bird1@ncl.ac.uk
TBD

Supervisors:
Dr Liz Heidrich
Dr Velasquez-Orta
  Lawrence Bruce

Email: l.a.bruce@ncl.ac.uk
Closing the carbon loop with biomass-waste derived carbon nanodots
EPSRC CDT in ReNU

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Gibson
  Tom Carr

Email: t.carr4@ncl.ac.uk
Process Intensification of Hemicellulose Purification and Polymerisation into Biorenewable Resins
BioSPRINT

Supervisor:
Dr Boodhoo
Dr Russo Abegao
  Njideka Chima-Amaeshi

Email: n.chima-ameshi2@ncl.ac.uk
Real-time Hydrocarbon Composition Measurement
EPSRC Industrial Case

Industrial Sponsor:
Intertek

Supervisors:
Dr O'Malley

Dr Willis
  Usman Dahiru

Email: u.h.dahiru-hassan2@ncl.ac.uk
Decomposition of volatile organic compounds (VOCs) using non-thermal plasma
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr K Zhang
  Long Duong

Email: t.l.duong2@ncl.ac.uk
Upgrading bio-oil from pyrolysis of biomass
Vietnam Oil and Gas Group (PetroVietnam or PVN) + NUORS Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Cucinotta
Dr K Zhang
  Prayoon Enmak

Email: p.enmak2@ncl.ac.uk
Intensification of the harvesting of microalgae
The Royal Thai Government

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Lee

Dr Caldwell
  Abubakar Halidu

Email: a.halidu2@ncl.ac.uk
Production of Bio-Hydrogen from Agricultural Residual (Spelt Husk) using Gasification Process
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Bilsborrow
  Hafsat Ibrahim

Email: h.h.ibrahim2@ncl.ac.uk
Ozone Pre-Treatment of Biomass to Biofuel
PTDF, Nigeria

Supervisor:
Dr Anh Phan
  Rouzbeh Jamei

Email: m.jamei2@ncl.ac.uk
Mini-Torbed technology for carbon capture adsorbent screening
NOURS

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Prof Reay
Dr McDonough
  Idris Jibrin
MPhil Student

Email: i.jobrin2@ncl.ac.uk
Bioengineering of Algae
PTDF

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Ulugbek Azimov (Northumbria)
  Hannah Kargbo

Email: h.o.kargbo2@ncl.ac.uk
Production of biofuel from biomass wastes and residues
Commonwealth Scholarship Commission UK

Supervisors:
Dr Phan
Dr Ng
  Kai Liu

Email: k.liu5@ncl.ac.uk
Modelling and Optimization of Fed-Batch Processes using Recurrent Neural Networks

Supervisors:
Dr J Zhang
Dr Willis
  Tayyab Mamtaz

Email: t.mamtaz2@ncl.ac.uk
Advanced Loop Heat Pipe Technology
EPSRC CASE Award

Industrial Sponsor:
Aavid Thermacore

Supervisor:
Dr Law
  Jirat Mankasem

Email: j.mankasem2@ncl.ac.uk
Waste Gasification

Supervisor:
Dr Phan
  Gerardo Martinez Narro

Email: g.martinez-narro2@ncl.ac.uk
Chemical recycling of plastic waste
CONACYT (Mexico) + NUORS

Supervisor:
Dr Phan
Prof Tom Curtis
Dr Simon Beaumont (Durham)
Dr Ulugbek Azimov (Northumbria)
  Richard McNeill

Email: r.mcneill1@ncl.ac.uk
3D printing new flow chemistry solutions for small molecule API synthesis
EPSRC Case Award

Industrial Sponsor:
Sterling Pharma Solutions

Supervisors:
Prof Harvey
Dr Russo Abegao
Dr McDonough
  Koren Murphy

Email: k.murphy2@ncl.ac.uk
Determination of the Active set of Elementary Flux Modes (EFMs) using Metabolic Flux Data
EPSRC Industrial Case Award with GlaxoSmithKline

Supervisors:
Dr O'Malley
Dr Willis
  Kirstie Pemberton

Email: k.pemberton@ncl.ac.uk
Characterisation of Lentiviral vector production from HEK293T cell lines
EPSRC

Collaborators:
Oxford BioMedica (UK) Ltd
Kent University

Supervisors:
Prof Mark Smales (Kent University)
Dr Carol Knevelman (Oxford BioMedica)
Dr Chris O'Malley
Prof Gary Montague (CPI)
  Matthew Pickersgill

Email: m.pickersgill@ncl.ac.uk

Treatment of highly concentrated ammonium wastewater streams utilising a novel Microalgal species, Oocystis Sp.
Northumbrian Water Group

Supervisors:
Dr Lee
Dr Caldwell (Newcastle)
  Ruosen Qi

Email: r.qi2@ncl.ac.uk
Fault Prognosis and Fault Magnitude Estimation Based on Hybrid Computational Intelligence and Data Analysis Techniques for Industrial Processes
Self-Funded

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
Dr O'Malley
  Sergio Serrano Blanco

Email: s.serrano-blanco2@ncl.ac.uk
Novel materials for intensified bioenergetic biomass production and aquaculture wastewater treatment
EPSRC

Supervisors:
Dr Velasquez-Orta
Prof Harvey
Dr Simon Barnabe
Dr Paul Hilditch
  Sam Settle

Email: s.settle2@ncl.ac.uk
Developing large-scale microbial electrolysis cells (MECs) for treatment of sludge return liquors
EPSRC & Northumbrian Water Ltd

Supervisors:
Dr Liz Heidrich
Dr Law
  Ryo Toyoda

Email: ryo.toyoda@ncl.ac.uk
Assessing Employees Through Games
Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions; ETN-CHARMING

Supervisors:
Prof Glassey
Dr Russo-Abegao
Dr Sue Gill
  Chioma Udeozor

Email: chioma.udeozor@ncl.ac.uk
Evaluation of Chemical Engineering Students
Marie Skłodowska-Curie Actions; ETN-CHARMING

Supervisors:
Prof Glassey
Dr Russo-Abegao
  Guanqi Wang

Email: g.wang12@ncl.ac.uk
Study of PM capture mechanism by trees and development of an intensified approach for solving emission problems
China Scholarship Council (CSC) & Postgraduate Research Group

Supervisors:
Dr Zivkovic
Dr McDonough
Dr Wang
  Shengkai Wang

Email: s.wang42@ncl.ac.uk
Intelligent Process Fault Diagnosis Using Feature Extraction and Neural Network Techniques

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang
  Kate Wildish-Jones

Email: k.wildish-jones1@ncl.ac.uk
Optical Trapping Studies of Multiphase Systems for Biorenewable Applications
EPSRC DTP Scholarship

Supervisors:
Dr Russo Abegao
Dr Carruthers
Prof Harvey
  Changhao Zhu

Email: c.zhu5@ncl.ac.uk
Nonlinear process modelling and optimization control using computational intelligence techniques

Supervisor:
Dr J Zhang

 

 

 Last modified: 09-Mar-2022